Next RPC Meeting Calendar icon Tuesday, May 28, 2024 at 2:00 P.M. | Agenda and Info Current Cases »
RPC Meetings are now available at

About the CMCRPC

Additional Information

The Clarksville-Montgomery County Regional Planning Commission (CMCRPC or RPC) is an independent government body established in 1963 under State Law. Originally operating as the City of Clarksville Planning Department, Montgomery County then approached the City with their desire to have a Joint Planning Commission. In 1962, Joint Resolutions at the City and County elected bodies were adopted thereby creating what we know today as the RPC.

A full-time planning staff employed by the RPC carries out all day-to-day administrative activities. The RPC provides technical and planning assistance in coordinating actions among federal, state, regional, and local governments. The basic function and duty of the RPC is to make and adopt a general regional plan for the physical development of the territory of the region. The plan is for the general purpose of guiding and accomplishing a coordinated, adjusted, efficient, and economic development of the region. Other common duties of the RPC include monthly zoning, subdivision, and site plan reviews. The RPC also houses the Common Design Review Board which provides oversight on Historic Zoning cases and design review for Downtown and Madison Street Corridor in Clarksville. The RPC also houses the local Clarksville Urbanized Area Metropolitan Planning Organization (CUAMPO) which is responsible for coordinating state and federal funds for local road and transportation projects.

With its 9 commissioners and 13 staff, the RPC strives to meet the needs of our rapidly growing community by adhering to our Vision and Mission.

Vision Statement

To preserve and promote the unique characteristics of Clarksville Montgomery County to provide for
a diverse community with a dynamic balance of agriculture and commerce.

Mission Statement

The Regional Planning Commission directs development in Clarksville and Montgomery County in a transparent manner that maximizes the use of valuable resources, ensures orderly land use, and guides infrastructure placement to support and sustain a rich quality of life for all citizens.

The Commission consists of nine members serving the community and is selected on the following basis. Under the law, the County Mayor and the City Mayor or their designees always serve on the Planning Commission during their terms of office. The remaining members are nominated for appointment by the County Mayor and the City Mayor; however, the Tennessee State Planning Office actually designates or appoints the other members of the Commission. The Planning Commissioners serve four-year terms. One Planning Commissioner will serve on the Regional Historic Zoning Commission as required by State law.


The Clarksville-Montgomery County Regional Planning Commission is located in the heart of historic downtown Clarksville, TN at 329 Main Street.